Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

President: Carolyn Thomas has been a teacher for more than 30 years and a student for even longer. She currently teaches in the philosophy department at University of New Mexico. Carolyn holds degrees from Duke, Stanford, St. John’s College, and University of New Mexico. Her volunteer service includes teaching and tutoring middle and high school students in Santa Fe, college admission counseling at Santa Fe High School, and tuition assistance committee work for the Albuquerque Community Foundation. Carolyn has wide-ranging experience as teacher, counselor, and administrator in independent schools. She’s also a member of the Studebaker Drivers Club and enjoys tinkering with old cars and trucks.

Vice President: Bruce Miller received a B.S. degree in Civil Engineering from Carnegie-Mellon University and an MBA from the University of Chicago.  He has worked in the field of corporate finance for over 30 years and currently is working as a finance executive with three technology companies in Santa Fe and also serves on the board of directors of the Santa Fe Business Incubator.  Bruce’s two daughters are graduates of the Santa Fe Girls’ School.

Secretary and Treasurer: Melissa Benedict is a graduate of St. John’s College in Santa Fe, earned a master’s degree in psychology from the Goddard Graduate Program and studied accounting at the Anderson School at UNM.  She has many years of experience in accounting and management for not for profit organizations, including seven years as finance director for a private school.  She has volunteered for political action groups, music organizations and several Santa Fe schools.

Trustee: Lee Lewin is a co-founder of the Santa Fe Girls’ School. She is licensed by the state of New Mexico to teach K through 8 and has earned the state’s bilingual education endorsement. She holds two undergraduate degrees, one in Russian language and literature from the University of California and one in education from the College of Santa Fe.